Install and configure NetRadiant 1.5

In this tutorial I would like to show you how to install and configure the level editor NetRadiant 1.5 on Windows and to configure it for World of Padman. But before you start, make sure that you have World of Padman correctly installed in the current version. With older versions, errors could occur when using this tutorial.

The NetRadiant is based on the source code of GtkRadiant 1.5 and consistently continues its development. Aside of several game packs of other id-Tech3 based games, it also provides a current version of the Q3Map2 compiler, which receives further development regarding stability and bug fixing. In the meantime the NetRadiant offers in my opinion more functions and comfort than the GtkRadiant. There are separate tutorials for fans of other Radiant versions:

Download

For example, you can download the NetRadiant from Ingar’s Projects webseite as a 7z archive. There are also packages for other operating systems as well as valuable hints and further tutorials in English.

NetRadiant 1.5 for Windows (32 bit)
( 6,3 MB | netradiant-20150621-win32.7z | MD5: 36644ef2ddf9e60d2d40285047d683a9 )

Installation

Since the NetRadiant does not have its own installation routine, you have to unpack the level editor into a folder of your choice. For this you need the pack program 7-Zip, which you also need to download and install. Once done, you can right-click on the 7z archive to select the Extract files option and unzip it to a folder of your choice (here: C:\Users\Kai\Modding\Tools). It automatically creates a subfolder for the program files of the level editor and therefore does not need to be created by you.

Extract NetRadiant from 7Z archive

Extract NetRadiant from 7Z archive

WoP Game Support

For the NetRadiant to work with World of Padman, you will need the archive files WoP radiant files.zip and WoP mapping files.zip we have prepared for you. Since WoP 1.5 they are already stored in the installation directory under XTRAS\editing files, so there is no extra download necessary anymore. The files may receive some updates from time to time, but then are always delivered with a new releases of WoP.

In the first step unzip WoP radiant files.zip directly into the installation folder of NetRadiant (here: C:\Users\Kai\Modding\Tools\NetRadiant-20150621-win32). Please note, that the subdirectories in the archive must be properly unpacked too. After that, as shown in the following figure, the subdirectories games, wop.bspc and wop.game should appear in your target folder.

WoP radiant files - Archivinhalt (rechts) und Zielordner (links)

WoP radiant files – archive content (right) and target folder (left)

In the second step unzip WoP mapping files.zip into your World of Padman installation directory (here: C:\Games\World of Padman). It will install a script and sample maps for the different game modes, which should make it easier for you to work on your own maps later on. Now you should find new subfolders like maps and scripts in your wop subfolder (here: C:\Games\World of Padman\wop). An accompanying readme file with further information in English is enclosed with the ZIP file. All map objects and environment boxes used by us (skyboxes) are already included in the WoP installation and no longer need to be installed separately. Related paths to work faster in NetRadiant can be found in the specially created catalogs.

Configuration

If you want to update from an older version of the NetRadiant and strange problems occur, it may be helpful to delete the directory (here: C:\Users\Kai\AppData\Roaming\NetRadiantSettings) with the existing NetRadiant settings.

Now you can start the NetRadiant for the first time. In the displayed dialog Global Preferences you should now be able to select World of Padman in the drop-down list. I recommend you to enable the option Enable Logging and to disable the option Show Global Preferences, if you only want to create maps for World of Padman. If you keep the last option enabled, you will be able to decide by yourself on every start up of NetRadiant for which of the supported games you want to create a map.

NetRadiant 1.5 - Globale Spieleinstellungen

NetRadiant 1.5 – global preferences

If the correct path to the World of Padman installation can not be found at first attempt, you must manually specify it (here: C:\Games\World of Padman\wop). This is the folder where the wop.exe file is located.

NetRadiant 1.5 - WoP Pfadangabe

NetRadiant 1.5 – WoP engine path

Now the NetRadiant should open normally with the default settings and look like shown in the following figure.

NetRadiant 1.5 - Standardansicht

NetRadiant 1.5 – default layout

If you also face the error message Unable to find default tag file C:/Users/…/wop.game/shadertags.xml. No tag support. in the console, you can easily remove it by automatically generating a corresponding file via the main menu under Plugins > ShaderPlug > Create tag file.

Since the level editor is now set up correctly for World of Padman, you can make other settings as you wish in the main menu under Edit > Preferences…. If you are using the NetRadiant for the first time, I recommend the following settings:

  • Interface > Layout: enable the third option of Windows Layout to activate the four-window layout.
  • Display > Entities: enable the option Show Light Radii to visualize the light range of the light entities.
  • Settings > Brush: enable the option Always use caulk for new brushes to apply the caulk texture on every new created brush by default.
  • Settings > Grid: Set Default grid spacing to 1 to use a finer grid by default.
  • Settings > Camera: disable the option Enable far-clip plane to see the complete map by default, if the level editor runs smoothly enough.
  • Settings > Orthographic: enable the option Display size info to show by default the dimensions of the currently selected brush.
  • Settings > Clipper: enable the option Clipper tool uses caulk to apply the caulk texture on every new created surface by default, while using the Clipper tools.
  • Settings > Build: enable the option Enable Build Process Monitoring to see progress in the console while compiling the map from the build menu.
  • Settings > Build: enable the option Stop compilation on leak to stop and cancel the compilation process automatically when a leak error is found.
  • Settings > Texture Browser: Set the option Load Shaders at Startup to Common to preload at least the much-used common shaders at startup.

A restart of the editor is now necessary. After that, the editor should look like this.

NetRadiant 1.5 - Vier-Fenster-Layout

NetRadiant 1.5 – four-window layout

NetRadiant 1.5 installieren und einrichten

In diesem Tutorial möchte ich dir zeigen, wie du den Leveleditor NetRadiant 1.5 unter Windows installierst und für World of Padman einrichten kannst. Bevor du aber startest, solltest du sicherstellen, dass du World of Padman in der aktuellen Version korrekt installiert hast. Mit älteren Versionen könnte es bei der Anwendung dieses Tutorials zu Fehlern kommen.

Der NetRadiant basiert auf dem Quellcode des GtkRadiant 1.5 und entwickelt diesen konsequent weiter. Neben Gamepacks für eine ganze Reihe von weiteren id-Tech3 basierten Spielen, bringt er auch eine aktuelle Version des Q3Map2-Kompilers mit, die ebenfalls  hinsichtlich Stabilität und Fehlerbeseitigung weiterentwickelt wurde. Mittlerweile bietet der NetRadiant meiner Meinung nach mehr Funktionen und Komfort als der GtkRadiant. Für Fans anderer Radiant-Versionen gibt es separate Tutorials:

Download

Den NetRadiant kannst du zum Beispiel über Ingar’s Projects Webseite als 7z-Archiv herunterladen. Dort befinden sich auch Pakete für andere Betriebssysteme sowie wertvolle Hinweise und weitere Tutorials auf Englisch.

NetRadiant 1.5 für Windows (32 bit)
( 6,3 MB | netradiant-20150621-win32.7z | MD5: 36644ef2ddf9e60d2d40285047d683a9 )

Installation

Da der NetRadiant keine eigene Installationsroutine besitzt, musst du den Leveleditor in einen Ordner deiner Wahl entpacken. Dazu benötigst du das Packprogramm 7-Zip, welches du zusätzlich herunterladen und installieren musst. Ist das erledigt, kannst du z.B. über einen Rechtsklick auf das 7z-Archiv die Option Dateien extrahieren wählen und es in einen Ordner deiner Wahl entpacken (hier: C:\Users\Kai\Modding\Tools). Dabei wird automatisch ein Unterordner für die Programmdateien des Leveleditors erstellt und muss daher nicht extra von dir neu erstellt werden.

NetRadiant aus 7z-Archiv entpacken

NetRadiant aus 7Z-Archiv entpacken

WoP Game Support

Damit der NetRadiant mit World of Padman funktioniert, benötigst du die von uns zusammengestellten Archiv-Dateien WoP radiant files.zip und WoP mapping files.zip. Sie sind seit WoP 1.5 bereits im Installationsverzeichnis unter XTRAS\editing files abgelegt, daher ist kein extra Download mehr notwendig. Die Dateien werden möglicherweise ab und zu aktualisiert, liegen dann aber immer den neuen Veröffentlichungen von WoP bei.

Im ersten Schritt entpacke bitte WoP radiant files.zip direkt in den Installationsordner des NetRadiant (hier: C:\Users\Kai\Modding\Tools\NetRadiant-20150621-win32). Bitte beachte, dass die Unterverzeichnisse im Archiv richtig mit entpackt werden müssen. Es sollten danach, wie in der folgenden Abbildung dargestellt, die Unterverzeichnisse games, wop.bspc und wop.game in deinem Zielordner erscheinen.

WoP radiant files - Archivinhalt (rechts) und Zielordner (links)

WoP radiant files – Archivinhalt (rechts) und Zielordner (links)

Im zweiten Schritt entpacke bitte WoP mapping files.zip in dein World of Padman Installationsverzeichnis (hier: C:\Games\World of Padman). Es werden dabei ein Skript und Beispiel-Maps für die unterschiedlichen Spielmodi installiert, die dir später die Arbeit bei deinen eigenen Maps deutlich erleichtern sollten. Jetzt solltest du neue Unterordner wie maps und scripts in deinem wop-Unterordner (hier: C:\Games\World of Padman\wop) vorfinden. Eine zugehörige Readme-Datei mit weiteren Information auf Englisch liegt der ZIP-Datei bei. Alle von uns verwendeten Mapobjekte und Umgebungsboxen (Skyboxen) liegen bereits der WoP-Installation bei und müssen nicht mehr extra installiert werden. Zugehörige Pfadangaben für ein beschleunigtes Arbeiten im NetRadiant findest du in den extra dafür erstellten Katalogen.

Konfiguration

Falls du von einer älteren Version des NetRadiant aktualisieren willst und dabei merkwürdige Probleme auftreten, kann es hilfreich sein, vorher das Verzeichnis (hier: C:\Users\Kai\AppData\Roaming\NetRadiantSettings) mit den bestehenden NetRadiant-Einstellungen zu löschen.

Jetzt kannst du den NetRadiant zum ersten Mal starten. Im angezeigten Dialog Global Preferences solltest du in der Dropdown-Liste nun World of Padman auswählen können. Ich empfehle dir die Optionen Enable Logging zu aktivieren und Show Global Preferences zu deaktivieren, falls du ausschließlich Maps für World of Padman erstellen möchtest. Lässt du die letzte Option einfach aktiviert, kannst du zukünftig bei jedem Start des NetRadiant selbst entscheiden, für welches der unterstützten Spiele du eine Map erstellen möchtest.

NetRadiant 1.5 - Globale Spieleinstellungen

NetRadiant 1.5 – Globale Spieleinstellungen

Sofern der richtigen Pfad zur World of Padman Installation nicht auf Anhieb gefunden werden kann, musst du ihn manuell angeben (hier: C:\Games\World of Padman\wop). Das ist der Ordner, in dem sich die Datei wop.exe befindet.

NetRadiant 1.5 - WoP Pfadangabe

NetRadiant 1.5 – WoP Pfadangabe

Jetzt sollte sich der NetRadiant ganz normal mit den Standardeinstellungen öffnen und wie in folgender Abbildung dargestellt aussehen.

NetRadiant 1.5 - Standardansicht

NetRadiant 1.5 – Standardlayout

Sollte auch bei dir in der Konsole die Fehlermeldung Unable to find default tag file C:/Users/…/wop.game/shadertags.xml. No tag support. auftreten, kannst du diese sehr einfach beseitigen, indem du über das Hauptmenü unter Plugins > ShaderPlug > Create tag file automatisch eine entsprechende Datei generieren lässt.

Da der Leveleditor jetzt für World of Padman richtig eingerichtet ist, kannst du je nach Belieben weitere Einstellungen im Hauptmenü unter Edit > Preferences… vornehmen. Wenn du das erste Mal mit dem NetRadiant arbeitest, empfehle ich dir die folgenden Einstellungen:

  • Interface > Layout: Windows Layout auf die 3. Option stellen, um das Vier-Fenster-Layout zu aktivieren.
  • Display > Entities: Aktiviere die Option Show Light Radii, um die Lichtreichweite der Light-Entities angezeigt zu bekommen.
  • Settings > Brush: Aktiviere die Option Always use caulk for new brushes, um standardmäßig neue Brushes stets mit der Calk-Textur zu belegen.
  • Settings > Grid: Stelle Default grid spacing auf 1, um standardmäßig ein feineres Raster zu verwenden.
  • Settings > Camera: Deaktiviere die Option Enable far-clip plane, um standardmäßig die komplette Map angezeigt zu bekommen, sofern der Leveleditor ausreichend ruckelfrei läuft.
  • Settings > Orthographic: Aktiviere die Option Display size info, um standardmäßig die Abmessungen des gerade ausgewählten Brushes angezeigt zu bekommen.
  • Settings > Clipper: Aktiviere die Option Clipper tool uses caulk aktivieren, um standardmäßig bei der Verwendung des Clipper-Tools neu entstandene Oberflächen mit der Calk-Textur zu belegen.
  • Settings > Build: Aktiviere die Option Enable Build Process Monitoring, um beim Kompiliervorgang der Map über das Build-Menü den Fortschritt angezeigt zu bekommen.
  • Settings > Build: Aktiviere die Option Stop compilation on leak, damit der Kompiliervorgang bei einen Leak-Fehler automatisch stoppt und abgebrochen wird.
  • Settings > Texture Browser: Stelle Load Shaders at Startup auf Common, um zumindest diese viel verwendeten Shader beim Start schon einmal vorladen zu können.

Ein Neustart des Editors wird jetzt notwendig. Danach sollte der Editor wie folgt aussehen.

NetRadiant 1.5 - Vier-Fenster-Layout

NetRadiant 1.5 – Vier-Fenster-Layout